WhatsApp has added an auto delete feature that allows its users to choose an option to delete chats after a seven days.
“You can send messages that disappear on WhatsApp by enabling disappearing messages. Once enabled, new messages sent in the individual or group chat will disappear after seven days. The most recent selection controls all messages in the chat. This setting won’t affect messages you previously sent or received in the chat. In an individual chat, either user can turn disappearing messages on or off. In a group chat, only group admins can turn disappearing messages on or off.” reads the company’s FAQ page.
“We’re starting with seven days because we think it offers peace of mind that conversations aren’t permanent, while remaining practical so you don’t forget what you were chatting about,” the company says in a blogpost. “The shopping list or store address you received a few days ago will be there while you need it, and then disappear after you don’t.
Disappearing messages can be enabled by tapping the chat name at the top of the screen and scrolling down to a new option for “disappearing messages” to turn it on. Doing so does not delete older messages, and either member of a chat can turn the setting on or off, though in a group chat only administrators have control.