The news is by your side.

DRC To Chair SADC Committee


The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) on Wednesday took over the chairmanship of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) during the 42nd Ordinary SADC Summit held in Kinshasa.

Malawi has been chairing the regional block for the last one year 2021-2022 under the leadership of President Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera.

Ushering in a new era of SADC leadership, President of DRC Félix Tshisekedi in his acceptance speech said he would be active in implementing programs to develop infrastructure and services in the region.

“I would be active in implementing programs to develop infrastructure and services in the region that is directly linked to our main strategies to stimulate economic integration and eradicate poverty in the SADC region,” he said.

- Advertisement -

At the same time, the President of Namibia Dr. Hage Geingob took over the chairmanship of SADC Organ on Peace, Defence and Security.

The developments come months after DRC was officially admitted to the East African Community regional block after signing the treaty of accession becoming the 7th member.


The Southern African Development Community (SADC) is a Regional Economic Community comprising 16 Member States; Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

It’s mission is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :